1 Comment

Interview with Filmmaker – Sharath Kumar Jothi

Sharath is a filmmaker from chennai best known for his short film “The Messiah” ,which has been selected as the winner of Best Short Film for Acting at the Norway Tamil Film Fest 2012 and also got Officially selected at Cannes Short film corner.

Hi Sharath,

Can you please introduce yourself? How did it all start?

I still remember the day, during my 5th grade. I was dancing before the rest of my batch mates and teachers for the song “Muqabula” from the movie “Kaadhalan” for the farewell day function. 18 years later, I still couldn’t believe that I am working as assistant director to director Shankar on his upcoming project.

I always wanted to be a creative person and it all began when my parents used to buy me a lot of coloring books and crayons to keep myself occupied during my school vacations.
I realized that I have better potential being creative and I chose architecture after my 12th Grade. Architecture was interesting but I was too much involved with photography and graphic designing during my college days. I studied a part time visual media course at the Image multimedia Institute, which gave me more exposure to animation films and visual effects. I have to thank my Vfx faculty Mr.Kannan and Center head Mr.Alexander for constantly encouraging me in trying out different things.

By the time I completed architecture and a visual media course, I was standing in cross roads. But I chose to go behind what I felt would keep me happy, rather doing something that would give me money. My family always backed me up and believed in me. I went to Sydney to do a Masters course in Animation and Vfx at the University of Technology Sydney also known as UTS.

During my days in Sydney, me and my roommate Anucharan used to talk a lot about films and keep watching films every night and morning. We almost shared the same passion and tastes which led us to make a short film of our own. That short film took me to Nalaya Iyakkunar – 2 in Kalaingar TV and now here I am giving you an interview of how I got into film making. 🙂

“The Messiah” ‘s trailer is filled with life. A few words about The Messiah and team?

It has been 3 years since I did my first short film and “The Messiah” is my 10th short film. It is close to heart as it involves a lot of things that I have experienced in my life in the past couple of years. The Messiah is about how two completely contrasting people, see their life.

This is not the first time I am working with this team. They have been with me right from the beginning and they are always amazing to work with. They understand me very well.

According to you,What does it take to make a good film?

As everybody say, good story and good screenplay is what you need to make a good film.
But good observation and proper detailing will help you make an extraordinary film. You
need to work as a team, listen to them and inspire everyone of them.

Your top 10 picks from World Cinema.

Bicycle Thief

The Terminator

Alien

Iziz Adam

Aviator

Memento

Pulp fiction

Cast Away

12 Angry Men

City Lights

Which filmmaker inspires you?

There is not just one film maker, it is a long list. I learn from everyone and each one of
them has their unique style. To name a few I will start with Indian film makers, because
they are the first reason for me to love film making. I have grown up watching their films much before I knew I am going to be a film maker.

Shankar

Manirathnam

Raam

Ameer

Kamal Hassan

Selvaraghavan

From the west

James Cameroon

Steven Speilberg

Chris Nolan

Martin Scorsese

Quentin Tarantino

Ridley Scott

A few words for aspiring film makers

Follow your heart, things will fall in place when you keep working on it honestly.

Quick Wits
What kind of person is Sharath? – Search result not found
Your Favourite place? – Darling harbour, Sydney
Your Favourite Book? – Ponniyin Selvan
Where would you like to wake up tomorrow? – Universal Studios, Hollywood.

Trailer of Messiah

Website:
http://www.sharathjothi.com/
http://www.facebook.com/sharath.jothi

Visit this page for his other works
http://www.youtube.com/user/sharathjothi

Thanks a lot for your answers.
Best Wishes and Keep Inspiring.

One comment on “Interview with Filmmaker – Sharath Kumar Jothi

  1. I think this is among the most vital information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

